The Del Bay Retriever Club currently has two Club trophies which are awarded annually at the January meeting.  One recognizes the Amateur Club member who has shown the best performance in the Club's Field Trials while the second award recognizes Amateur Club member with the most Master completions during the year.  They are:

The W. Clayton Crawford Trophy  was first presented in 1996 and is to be presented annually to the Club member's retriever that receives the most AKC Hunting Test master level qualifying scores.  This trophy is in appreciation of Clayton's many contributions to the Hunting Tests and in recognition of Clayton's "once-in-a-lifetime" character.  Clayton was a DBRC member for over 25 years and a charter member of the Master National Retriever Club.




The M. Alex Spear Memorial Trophy  was established in 1997 and is presented annually by the Del Bay Retriever Club, Inc. in recognition of Alex's leadership, accomplishments and contributions to the sport of Field Trials.  Alex was a founding member of Del Bay and remained a member until his death in 1997.   Alex and his wonderful Chesapeake Bay Retrievers were an integral part of the Del Bay Retriever Club for 60 remarkable years.  This perennial trophy is awarded to the Amateur Club member who has turned in the best cumulative results at Del Bay's Field Trials in the previous year.   The recipient must be a member in good standing at the time of the placements.  Furthermore, the trophy is awarded based upon a point system established by the 1997 Board of Directors.





 2015 Recipient of The M. Alex Spear Memorial Trophy 


Tracy Wight and Nike 


2015 Recipients of The W. Clayton Crawford Trophy 

*** not pictured ***

Cal Rumbley 


 2014 Recipients of The M. Alex Spear Memorial Trophy


 Jeff Lyons and Lyn Yelton


2014 Recipients of The W. Clayton Crawford Trophy 


Dora and Don Heffelfinger


Last Updated (Friday, 15 July 2016 06:45)